Minimum Wage

California law mandates that all employees are paid the minimum wage. On April 4, 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3, amending Labor Code § 1182.12 and increasing California’s minimum wage each year for the next 6 years until it reaches $15 per hour in 2022. The scheduled minimum wage increases are as follows:

Effective Date Minimum Wage
January 1, 2018 $11.00
January 1, 2019 $12.00
January 1, 2020 $13.00
January 1, 2021 $14.00
January 1, 2022 $15.00

There is a delay in the minimum wage implementation for small businesses, with each of the above scheduled increases delayed for 1 year for employers with 25 or fewer employees.  (Labor Code § 1182.12(b).

 

Request A Free Consultation